MG6 engine warning light - OBD2 tool - Code P0234

2 months 2 weeks ago - 2 months 2 weeks ago #26614 by luca.baldi
Hi. The other day the engine light came on, and so far nothing too unusual based on a few posts in the forum. The car seems to be driving pretty well despite the light so I am not overly concerned, but I would like to investigate the problem. I have seen a lot of very cheap OBD2 tools being sold online and I was wondering if anybody could recommend one that is compatible with the MG6. I would assume most of them would be, but I am no expert.
Many thanks.
Ah forgot to mention my MG6 is the 1.8 petrol just in case it makes any difference.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

2 months 4 days ago #26651 by luca.baldi
Just if anybopdy is interested, I have bought a launch creader 3001 scan tool for a few quid and it seems to work quite ahppily with my car.

2 months 3 days ago #26655 by luca.baldi
A wee update and perhaps some of the more experienced guys out there will have some suggestions.
I hooked up the OBD scanner and checked its readings and it gave me a P0234 code (Engine Overboost Condition).
The engine light is not on, but the code has been registered by the ECM.
The other thing that I have noticed is that the long terms fuel trim is steady at around -13%. Now I am no mechanic but I know that anything above + or - 10% might indicate a problem somewhere.
The other thing I have noticed is that if I accelerate hard, the car at first feels quite willing, but then between 4k and 5k revs it starts hesitating. It's very noticeable, it really pulls back, then goes again, then pulls back, then goes again in quick cycles.
Any thoughts?

2 months 2 days ago #26665 by bflint
Check turbo boost solenoid or connections?

1 month 3 weeks ago - 1 month 3 weeks ago #26670 by luca.baldi